Uasin Gishu County to Receive 5 Billion for Town Improvement

Uasin Gishu is among 5 counties that are set to receive 5 billion shillings for improvement of their capital cities. The other counties are Kisumu, Nairobi, Mombasa, and Nakuru.

The Commission on Revenue Allocation will be allocating them the Sh 5 billion in addition to the regular budgetary allocation. The money is meant to improve urban infrastructure and public services within the metropolis.  Eldoret, Mombasa, Nairobi, and Kisumu are recognized by the Urban Areas and Cities Act of 2011 as Cities.

The Cabinet in 2017 approved Eldoret and Nakuru’s elevation to cities. Their charters will be prepared soon.

The Commission for Revenue Allocation had recommended more money for the towns which have been neglected and needed investment to improve service delivery to growing populations.



Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *