What Number is Eldoret County?

Spread the love

Eldoret is the headquarters of Uasin Gishu County, which is County number 27. This is a County that encompasses the former Eldoret North, Eldoret East, and Eldoret South constituencies. It was formerly known as Uasin Gishu District before devolution.

Uasin Gishu County Headquarters

Uasin Gishu County is County number 27. It does not have three constituencies like the former Uasin Gishu District. Instead, County number 27, has 6 constituencies.

The six constituencies are:

CONSTITUENCY                          CURRENT MP 2017-2022

  1. Ainabkoi                               William Chepkut
  2. Moiben                                 Silas Tiren
  3. Soy                                         Caleb Kositany
  4. Turbo                                     Janet Sitienei Rotich
  5. Kesses                                   Swarup Mishra
  6. Kapseret                               Oscar Kipchumba Sudi

There are 30 counties in Uasin Gishu County.

The present governor of Uasin Gishu County which is County  number 27, is Jackson Mandago who is serving his second term. The deputy governor is Daniel Chemno.

Jackson Mandago beat his competitor billionaire Zedekiah Bundotich alias Buzeki during the last elections in 2017. Buzeki is expected to go for the seat a second time in 2022 when he will probably be the front runner. Jackson Mandago was voted in as the first governor of Uasin Gishu in 2013 and he won a second term in 2017.

In 2022, the people of Uasin Gishu will elect a second governor.

Uasin Gishu Woman Representative is Gladys Boss Shollei, and the Senator is Professor Margaret Kamar.

Turkana County

Turkana County is County number 23 with  a population of 855,399 and it is led by Governor Josephat Nanok. Turkana’s economy is relying on fishing, tourism, and now mining of oil. The largest refugee camp in the country, Dadaab, is also in Turkana County. The territory of Turkana County is 71,597.8 square kilometers.

West Pokot County is County  number 24 and located in the former Rift Valley Province. There are 512,690 people in West Pokot who live in the County whose headquarter is in Kapenguria town. The first governor of West Pokot County is Simon Kachapin and the second governor is Professor John Lonyangapuo, a former Principal of Chepkoilel Campus, now known as the University of Eldoret.

Samburu County

County number 25 is Samburu County which has a population of 223,947 people and a geographical area of 20,185 square kilometers. The current governor of Samburu County is Moses Kasaine Lenolkulal. Samburu headquarters is in Maralal town. Governor Lenolkulal is now serving his second term as governor of Samburu. He is the first governor of Samburu County which is County number 25.

Samburu has three constituencies: Samburu East, Samburu West, and Samburu North.

Trans Nzoia

Trans Nzoia County is County number 26 and located in Rift Valley between the former Rift Valley and Western regions. Trans Nzoia borders Bungoma, Uasin Gishu, Kakamega, West Pokot, Uasin Gishu and Uganda.

Trans Nzoia’s governor is called Patrick S. Khaemba whose government sits in Kitale town. The population of Kitale is 818,757 and most of them survive on farming of maize, wheat, and dairy cows. Kitale is well known for its large farms, although majority are small scale farmers. The woman representative is Janet Ndagabo and the Senator is Michael Maling’a Mbito.

Elgeyo Marakwet

County number 28 is Elgeyo Marakwet County which lies North of Uasin Gishu and borders West Pokot, Uasin Gishu, and Baringo. The headquarters of Elgeyo Marakwet is in Iten town which is a small town with some good hotels. The governor of Elgeyo Marakwet is Alex Tolgos, Senator is Kipchumba Murkomoen and the Woman Representative is Susan Kipketer Chebet.

Elgeyo Marakwet County which is County 28 has a population of 369,998 and most of them live on agriculture. The county produces, maize, millet, potatoes, mangoes, pawpaws, meat, and cabbages.

Nandi County

Nandi County is County number 29. Nandi County has had two governors since the devolved government emerged in 2013. The first governor of Nandi was Cleophas Lagat whose deputy was Domonic Biwott. The present governor is Stephen Sang, the youngest governor in the country.

Stephen Sang first served as Senator for Nandi County before he ascended to the Governorship during the 2017 elections. The present Senator for Nandi is Cherargei Kiprotich.

Dr Yullita Mitei is the Deputy Governor while the Speaker is Joshua Cherwon. The current Woman Representative is Dr Tecla Tum. During the previous term, Zipporah Kerring was the Woman Representative.

The head quarters of Nandi County which is County number 29, is in Kapsabet town. Nandi’s population is 752,956, and the main agricultural activity here is farming of tea and maize as well as dairy farming.

Baringo County

Baringo County is County  number 30. Baringo’s population is 555,561 and the capital is in Kabarnet town. Baringo’s people are mainly Tugen, Pokot, and Njemp in ethnicity and most of them engage in livestock farming. The county has a number of tourists attractions like Lake Bogoria.

The leadership of Baringo County, which is County number 30, is made up of Governor Stanley Kiptis, Senator Gideon Moi, and Woman Representative Gladwell Tungo.

Kenya’s second president Daniel Arap Moi, came from Baringo County.

Baringo borders Nakuru, Elgeyo Marakwet, Laikipia, and Kericho.



Joyce Sambu
Author: Joyce Sambu


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *