Why Keiyo North and Marakwet East Constituencies might not Survive the Census and Boundary Reviews

Spread the love

Next week’s census may have major consequences for the constituents of Keiyo North and Marakwet East who might see their constituency getting scrapped if their populations don’t meet the required population quota.

The quota is arrived at by dividing the number of inhabitants of Kenya by the number of constituencies.

If the population of Kenya will be 51M by the Census of 2019, then these constituencies will need to have a population of approximately 170,000.

The findings of the national census will inform possible restructuring of the names, numbers and boundaries of constituencies in Kenya.

Kerio Valley in Elgeyo Marakwet Coumty
EMC Governor Alex Tolgos


Any such changes will have an impact on the 2012 General Election only if they come into effect at least twelve months before the elections.

According to Article 89 of the Constitution on the Delimitation of Electoral Units, the number of people within each of the constituencies must meet the requisite population quote.

There is however, a margin of 40% or 30% depending on whether the constituency is in a city, sparsely populated area, or other areas. Other factors that will be considered are geographical features, as well as historical, cultural, and economic ties among the people, not to mention means of communication.

If constituency boundaries are changed the new ones will take effect as soon as parliament is dissolved after public

ation in the Gazette.

Keiyo North and Marakwet East are both constituencies in Elgeyo Marakwet County. Keiyo North Connstituency has had six Members of Parliament representing it since it came into existence since 1969.

The current Keiyo North Member of Parliament is Dr. James Murgor, who is currently embroiled in an inheritance dispute with more than thirty of his siblings. Murgor has been the MP since 2013, when he was elected on a URP ticket. B

Former Keiyo North MP Lucas Chepkitony

esides ODM’s Lucas Chepkotony, all the previous area legislators were elected on a KANU ticket.

There are 4 wards in Keiyo North Constituency: these are Emsoo, Kamariny, Kapchemutwa, and Tambach Wards.

The current MP, James Murgor, is the son of a former MP of Kerio Central, known as William Murgor.




Marakwet East has four Wards: Embobut, Endo, Kaptich, and Sambirir. The current MP for Marakwet East is Kangogo Bowen, who beat Lina Kilimo by less than 1,000 votes. Kilimo unsuccessfully contested.

Marakwet East MP Kangogo Bowen
Former Marakwet East MP Lina Jebii Kilimo

According to Infotrack, Elgeyo Marakwet has a population of 369,998 people. There are four constiutencies in Elgeyo Marakwet County: Keiyo North, Keiyo South, Marakwet West, and Marakwet East. Keiyo North and Marakwet East have four Wards each, while Marakwet West and Keiyo South have six wards each.

Joyce Sambu
Author: Joyce Sambu

One Comment

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *